Neo Rauch

It is a give-and-take between an idea, what one might call “text”, and what is recorded using the medium as “subtext”. I have to ask myself what I expect from painting: should it be subservient to my ideas or a queen that I have to serve? The text, which I regard as a private matter, must be able to stand being dragged diagonally across the canvas. If it loses something along the way, so much the better, since it then gains something that it may have urgently needed: sensuality and a truth that is rooted in non-verbal space.

The Art Newpaper

One Comment on “Neo Rauch”

  1. Marie Breedt says:

    I feel you are totally independent in your perspective on art and painting.
    To be innovative in this day is such an achievement that I consider your talent as one of the best
    in the last 50 years.
    Thank you for sharing your visions.
    Marie VBreedt


Leave a Reply

